Poets logo

What the trees didn't tell us, we are

Nobody ever really wants nothing from anyone else

By Joe NastaPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
What the trees didn't tell us, we are
Photo by Dylan Fout on Unsplash

I pretended not to know what you meant

when you emailed me asking:

.

Was it a dream? You would wake up

tomorrow and I would be in your bed,

the warm presence of my body rooting

into the mattress, the steam of my breath

forking into green sparks. Presence.

I gave you what you wanted. Was I real?

.

I remember that email when I walk down

Madison towards Elliot Bay.

.

On the one-way street, empty branches

and towering buildings take me

step by step down the hill. From here

it seems the road ends under the water,

crystalline, just like it did last year.

Winter mornings.

.

A skyscraper is obscured by the arms

of a dead tree. Its reflection

.

shows in the glass of another building.

A skyscraper is only as tall as a city lets it.

I look through the branches and see

how blue the windows, straight at it.

The shadows of where leaves should be.

Even manmade things feel natural.

.

Nobody ever really wants nothing

from anyone else.

.

*The title of this poem is after a line from “Some Trees” by John Ashbery

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.