Poets logo

What Song Do I Sing to Thee?

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
What Song Do I Sing to Thee?
Photo by Michael Maasen on Unsplash

What song do I sing to thee?

Thee who is so holy, thee who is so free.

What chords do I swimmingly combine?

So that you call yourself yours, and I myself mine.

What phrases? What letters? What caters to your needs?

What poems? What notes? How many beats?

What time? What count?

What voice? What amount?

What phrase? What word?

Do you want it loudly hidden, or perhaps secretly heard?

The music should write itself from heart,

Yet a page is thrown again and again, once again torn apart.

I hit a drum, and you play your bass.

I wish it were simpler, but it's never the case.

Hum and hum a tune, I have nothing left.

Except some bare pages, maybe some memories I kept.

All that I place into measures, whatever comes will be.

And yet you wait watching, maybe hoping you'd see

A shinging light, a beaming audience, claps, cheers and champagne.

You may fight it differently, but all pain is the same.

I'll linger somewhere, writing some more songs if I can.

It wouldn't ever matter anymore.

I played my part, but I was never a fan.

art
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.