Poets logo

What Smile Lines Do To One's Face

An accompanying poem to Amber Vittoria's "The Little Things"

By Jose SotoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Amber Vittoria's "The Little Things"

Plantar tendons have been treading on

frost bit floors for

far too long.

Caressed by frigid specks

the way morning dew dampens

the crisp, hardened meadows.

I walk toward my lifelong friend whom

I have seen everyday, yet haven't embraced

for what seems like calendars. Everyday,

my friend sends me warmth amidst a global

winter storm that I navigate on a floating device.

Slowly, these ice caps trickle from the sides

wallowing shallow tubs.

Now, I clasp her ardent body against mine;

feel her flaring fingertips on my back, her busy forehead on

my shoulders, and her soothing breath whisk my hair strands

so far back that they mark each unforgiving day past as gone

and I remember what smile lines do

to one's face: it beautifies it.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jose Soto

I am a writer and journalist born and raised in the El Paso, Texas and the Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua, México, region. I write stories, blogs, essays, and prose that help myself and readers discover what it means to be human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.