Poets logo

What's Wrong With Crazy

Strange Feels Like Home

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

shadows have become companions

fits the mood I’m in today

into the depths of hollow canyons

filling voids of my decay

*

circling round and round my body

comfort comes as I inhale

flash and flare - excessive, gaudy

tearing down my lonely veil

*

strangeness seems to fit my comfort

Normal makes me insecure

slowly they’re drawn to my hearts hurt

too late now to find a cure

*

Take hold of the one, doesn't want you to change

The one unashamed, of who you really are

ones truly connected, when they call you strange

who sees the true beauty in those things, bizarre

Then, you're finally home

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    Haunting and extremely well-written!

  • Peculiar inside my own being❤️💯😉 Great Piece❗

  • I feel like you wrote this for me! Normal makes me very insecure. I like being different although people think I'm strange. Their strange is my normal. Their normal is my strange. Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Strange is beautiful, and so is this poem.

  • I've long said that the definition of crazy is to think or act outside of the norm. But since the norm today is to be different, that means if you're normal you're crazy & if you're crazy you're normal. Yeah, the doctor might have dropped me on my head a few times when I was born, lol. Welcome home, Kelli.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    That was so good and a cold comfort! I really like the art as well!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    "Then you're finally home" This whole poem spoke to me, but the last line really stuck. Loved it :)

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Your last stanza encapsulates how I feel right now, and how I've felt for a good portion of my life. While I have found people I click or vibe with, there's often a sense or reality of the other person wanting change that benefits them and not the relationship or my growth as a person. Being unique is a gift. Still waiting for that tribe to manifest as well as that One to share my next forever with.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This had a seriously lovely loveliness to it and yes, there is absolutely nothing wrong with being a little different and strange!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.