Poets logo

What's On Your Mind?

I think about this as I scroll.

By Chelle. BPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

What's on your mind?

I log in and see what's on your mind?, Michelle. I think about this as I scroll.

Does anyone really care?

Well if you do let's take a stroll.

As you can see I have two sides.

One is light.

One is dark.

Breathtakingly beautiful on the light side isn't it?

Well don't get too comfortable there.

It's the other side that makes the mark.

See how it dances to the light.

I try to avoid this occurrence.

I push it back with all my might.

Sometimes it stays awhile.

Turning everything gray.

This is dangerous for me.

So I do my best to keep it at bay.

Gray is where please come sit with me I could use a friend, gets switched to no I'm fine, just tired again.

Where my happy is mocked and torn to shreds.

By you guessed it boys and girls!

The darkness in my head.

Gray is fuck it why even bother.

All the way up to lying in bed wondering if I'm a good mother.

Oh wait, you see that it's the light side fighting back.

There I am dancing and singing with my children.

You wonder, I'm sure why the light side isn't more driven.

Why does it back away to let the dark take hold?

I'll tell you why, if I may be so bold.

The dark side as you can see, has a mind of its own.

It gives zero fucks as to what I want and the happiness I hold.

So let's take a peek at the dark side shall we.

This is where oh hey you look pretty today, turns to why do you even look this way?

Where jumping to conclusions is no longer just silly illusions, but the life force that drives me to be this way.

Where everything I do is never good enough.

Every word I utter is simply pissing everyone off, and sounds ridiculous to normal functioning person, but for me.

There is no other version.

This is it.

This is what you get when the dark takes hold.

Would you like to step back into the light?

You are looking a bit cold.

Well I'm sorry the light side is busy.

It's a constant struggle for that side, when dark decides to become snippy.

One day I hope to have the light shine so bright the darkness is merely a little shadow in the corner.

I fear however, darkness will prevail.

When every god damn thing I love will be taken away.

Where my happy little colors will be coated in gray.

Thanks for stopping by.

Remember this if you would be so kind.

Sometimes an I'm fine is a bullshit lie, and if you actually give a shit about that person you better be along for the ride, and that my dear Friends is what's on my mind.

sad poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Chelle. B

Hi! I'm Michelle, I have severe anxiety and depression (thought I'd get that out of the way) I'm also very passionate about writing and it has saved my life a time or two so it's something I hold dear to me. Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.