Poets logo

What's Next?

Poetry

By LilyRosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
What's Next?
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

If I need this and that

want most of and more

get bigger and better

increase and exceed

create a surplus,

Does it really have to be greed?

Because I’ve always assumed

that the need to consume

was from need not greed

but if I take a moment to think

life’s flown by in a blink

of gifts and gadgets

and I don’t really care

for the carefully selected items

I’ve collected.

They could go in a flash

end up in the trash

I wouldn’t mourn their loss

it’s mostly just junk.

So if my need to buy and bulk and boast

is an unpleasant habit out of control ,

what hole in my soul am I trying to console?

And how little could I need if I said no to this greed?

performance poetryslam poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

LilyRose

Corporate cog by day, poet by night. Writing is my happy place. Comments, follows and critiques are always welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.