Poets logo

What's in a Name?

Poem

By Mark GrahamPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
pencils (pexels.com)

What's in a name? Your name is a personal idea of who you are.

Your name is not a pronoun. Pronouns take the place of a noun of a person, place, thing or idea.

Who really wants to be known as He, She, or even It.

First, second and third person.

That is all a pronoun is to me.

My name is a gift my parents gave me when I was born.

It did not matter what race or creed or whatever.

The name they gave me they chose with their hearts and mind. True names are based on boy and girl and some names both.

Names are not pronouns. Names are who we are.

My name is Mark not he, him or it. Whatever?!

(I hope you like this poem for it just hit me when I was clicking on to yahoo to sign in and the first thing I see is about choosing what pronoun children want to be referred to in school. My teachers called me by my first name not my pronoun.)

social commentaryinspirationalchildrens poetryart
1

About the Creator

Mark Graham

I am a person who really likes to read and write and to share what I learned with all my education. My page will mainly be book reviews and critiques of old and new books that I have read and will read. There will also be other bits, too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Musa Salmanabout a year ago

    Great words man !!! Truely impressive Read my story too if anyone is interested in horror stories : https://vocal.media/horror/the-old-mansion-on-the-hill-73b50glm

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.