Poets logo

What's Best For You

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I tore your heart and threw it into the ocean

you gave up and walked away 

now I'm left watching the waves wash away your footprints 

I'll never be able to find you again

it's what's best for you

I wish the waves could erase all of our memories 

no longer do I want to be transported to the past

I want to stay stuck in a place where I can't cause you grief

and as the breeze sings loudly with the ocean 

coaxing me in

the duet of sounds make me forget your voice for a moment

I step into the water

it's so willing to take me under

and as the tides pull me into a dark place to hide

the moon scoops me up and holds me close

she begins to sing and soothe my soul 

for once I feel at ease 

I go round and round in a dream-like state

it's best to stay

and stay I do

I want to stay here forever

isolation is what's best for me

all the pains of my past finally detach and drift out into the unknown 

weaving between the planets and stars

should I drift out and disappear too?

would that be what's best?

but then I hear your voice 

you're out there calling my name

so far from me and yet too close

stay away it's what's best for you

yet every part of me begs to go to you

and for a moment I struggle as the moon grips me tighter

'wait' she says 'you're not ready yet'

but the longer I stay the colder I become

isolation has made me numb and closed off

a layer of ice has begun to form on my heart and soul

I crave for another's love that will warm me up and melt the numbness away

quietly I slip from the moon's orbit

and find my way back home

all I want is to find you

but staying separate is what's best for us

I go back to the ocean and sit on the shore where you left me

no longer do I wish for the waves to erase the memories

but I do wish I could have been the person that never hurt you

and as I look out into the distance I'm reminded of the days we spent together

and the days I spent without you

a bitter-sweet mix of life reminding me what's best for you 

and that's being separated from me

you deserve better

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.