Poets logo

What Makes A Good Poem?

I Don't Know. Ask Me Tomorrow

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
What Makes A Good Poem?
Photo by Nicolas Messifet on Unsplash

What makes a good poem?

Fuck if I know

I just write how I feel

:

I write to express

the things the English language

doesn't have a word for

:

I write to express

the meaning of words that

are overused and misconstrued

:

I write to describe

the things in conversation

people might stop listening to

:

I write because

my pencil understands me

the way know one else does

:

I write because

paper was my savior

when I didn't have a voice

:

I write because

it's my haven

away from all the bullshit

that comes out of people's mouths

:

I write because

it's the passion

that flows upon paper

that society sees as taboo

:

I write because

it's my act of rebellion

when people just want you to follow suit

:

What makes a good poem?

I don't know

Ask me tomorrow

:

Maybe by then

I’ll have figured it out

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Exactly this - you worded it perfectly!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.