Poets logo

What it feels like to be different in 2021

A true story

By Unlikely Hero Published 3 years ago 1 min read
6

I have been told that I am different, and that its my fault.

The difference in me, they say, is a fundemental flaw, they tell me that it should cause me shame.

It isn't easy to see what makes me differnt, not on the outside. Not if I am careful.

My words are guarded, I know that I am not safe to speak from my heart.

Fear guides my actions, because I have seen so many others like me treated so unfairly.

I don't feel safe, not at work, not for my children.

I am not different by choice, it is a part of who I am.

I feel misunderstood, ignored, like my voice is worthless.

Sometimes people treat me like I am less than human.

When people find out that I am diffeent, they stop listening, and it hurts.

Sometimes hurt, looks a lot like anger.

I am not that much different, I am still a human.

I am not a monster.

I am just a Trump supporter.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Unlikely Hero

Single mom in charge of two kids, 3 dogs, and one aging parent.I spend my free time creating beautiful things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.