Poets logo

What is your favorite color

We don't get to choose

By Morten JensenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
What is your favorite color
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Boys are born into the color blue

When they grow up this might not be true

Just imagine if it was you

The things that people say and do

We don’t get to choose our favorite color

But boys and girls might fit better in another

We shouldn’t really mix them with each other

Apparently, you can’t be my brother

Girls are born into a world of pink

But they do not know what to think

When presented with the ink

There might be another link

We don’t get to choose our favorite color

But boys and girls might fit better in another

We shouldn’t really mix them with each other

Apparently, you can’t be my brother

Babies born into dissonance

Thrown aside without a chance

Unable to take a stance

All they want to do is dance

We don’t get to choose our favorite color

But boys and girls might fit better in another

We shouldn’t really mix them with each other

Apparently, you can’t be my brother

I don’t see your color

but I’m not color blind

I don’t speak your tongue

but I hear you all the same

I can see the borders

but I still feel your pain

I didn’t choose a gender

but you call me a boy

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Morten Jensen

Lyricist, blogger, nutritionist, coach, gay, accountant, runner, lover of life, and so much more. Helping gay men get unstuck from stress and anxiety.

Work with me: https://www.changeforth.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.