Poets logo

What is that?

Haunted house poem

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
15
What is that?
Photo by Nathan Wright on Unsplash

Teeth chattering, knees shaking

The wind howling, my boots are quaking

No one here but me

Or at least so I think

~

What was that?!

Out of the corner of my eye

What made that sound?!

Just behind a door I hear a pound

~

I turn to leave

I've had my fill of this haunted house

Wait where am I?

Did someone change the house?

~

There was a door

Down this hallway I swore

Now there's brick instead of a door

What's that creeping along the floor?

~

Creak creak creak

The sound grows loud

Creak creak creak

My heart begins to pound

~

Thump thump thump

Beating louder than I've ever heard

Thump thump thump

I jump when I hear the screeching of a bird

~

I laugh to myself

There's nothing to fear

Pound pound pound

Oh god what's that I hear?

~

Closer and closer

The pounding comes my way

Closer and closer

Soon it completely surrounds me

~

I hear a whisper

Behind my right shoulder

"Boo."

When I turn no one is near

~

As I turn back I scream

A torn and mangled face

Stares back at me

It screams back

And that's the last thing I see

Attempt number two at horror poetry. If you enjoyed it then please leave a like, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

surreal poetry
15

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.