Poets logo

What is happening?

A poem

By Briant LasloPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
What is happening?
Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

What is happening? It’s just for a moment that I close my eyes, and when I open them again I realize that the lies which I deride and despise have come true.

Maybe not for me, or you, but for far too many reds and blues, and all the hues in between whose choice is to choose not that which is authentic, but that which is smooth.

Smooth as in uncomplicated, uninvolved, undemanding, something that doesn’t require sitting or standing while, may your gods forbid, thinking about how things are hitting and landing in the hearts and minds of anyone who isn’t you.

And why is it so fuckin tricky to find validity in a reality where you can weave what you conceive as truth into an actuality that doesn't infringe on me, or him or her, he or she, them or their?

You say what’s fair is fair? Well what you see as descent and equitable, to me is devious and intolerable, confusing and unfathomable, lacking the why, the what, the who or the where.

To keep it square, I comprehend that for you, the reverse is true: my ideal Shangri-La is imperfect and flawed, askew in your view due to a misconstrued conclusion I have of some grand plan.

I comprehend but I don’t understand. Because the key, that you either refuse or are unable to see, is that while you demand that what’s right for you is right for me, that’s not the life I choose to breathe.

We each have our own plate in front of us, confronting us, dealing with what life has for us. I inhale bliss, exhale euphoria, I feel no need to spit and worry ya. I find my path, leave you your dysphoria.

So, while the world seems more maddening, challenging, blackening and baffling, I keep balancing and channeling whatever dazzling joy I can find. I’ll close my eyes, find my smile, continue gambling and battling, shambling and scrambling, and reflecting on the question, what is happening?

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Briant Laslo

Briant has defied the odds for a long time. Born with MD, his parents were told he would be dead before he was 5. He turned 5 in 1977 and is still going strong. An avid reader, he is now seeking to bring his creations to a larger audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tricia beyer 2 years ago

    Love it, I can hear it in my head.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.