Poets logo

what is grief if not love persevering?

to grieve is to love

By Evelyn HarrisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Drawing by Evelyn Harris

To be able to feel

or hold the quality of love

we are all seeking

we must be willing

to feel the pain of past

loves and loss

as well as accumulated

sorrows and unmourned experiences

in our bodies and life

I’ve been told that

sorrow prepares you for joy

It violently sweeps everything out

so that new joys have space to enter

But healing is not about replacing

No two lovers feel exactly alike

nor two loves fill our hearts identically

There’s a space reserved in time for

that singular love that will

never be painted over

Sorrow serves as a reminder

to enjoy the moments

before they become memories

They tell me time will heal

but that doesn’t work when

you number the days

counting the hours

Constantly calculating the absence

We organize time into boxes

as if it’s neat when really

grief is not meant to live

in calendar days

It has every right to bleed

It’s brutal the way we assign

urgency to processing

When they ask

I refuse to say it got easier

but my grief did change

I stopped crying everyday

I smiled again

I cope with the loss

as best I can

I learned to live again

with the void next to me

Coping doesn’t mean I’ve moved on

it didn’t mean I love any less

I won’t say it will get easier

because living a life

without someone you love

is never going to be easy

Grief is all of the unexpressed love that

we don’t get the chance to share with

the person or thing we lost

what is grief if not love persevering?

art
1

About the Creator

Evelyn Harris

instagram: evelyn_harris & evelynharrisart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.