Poets logo

What If?

A Poem About Reflection

By Jordan ElizabethPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

What if I had turned back that day

Made a quick U-Turn at the beginning

What if I had walked alone

Instead of with the devil

What if I had ran from his hands

Before he slipped through mine

What if I had stood my ground

Instead of crumbling at my own feet

What if I had ignored that call

Made him the one with no voice

What if I had held my own door

Instead of letting stereotypes win me over

What if I had taken the veil from my eyes

Before he placed one on the everyone else

What if I had spoken up

Instead of silently carrying his guilt

What if I had left after the first 2nd chance

Made him the fool

What if I had moved far away

Instead of staying on his radar

What if I had enjoyed my youth—

Before it was ripped from under my feet

What if I had demanded respect

Instead of crawling on my knees begging for it

What if I had turned off my phone

Made myself the sum of my experiences

What if I had trusted my instincts

Instead of losing everything

What if I had noticed the devil still on my back

Before he was at my throat

What if I had fought back

Instead of simply accepting defeat

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.