Poets logo

What I've Learned

A Poem About Learning

By Dani LopezPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

I've learned a few things in the last couple months.

I've learned that sprite is the universal soft drink. It's just is. Think about it.

I learned that donuts are good at any time of the day.

I've learned that no matter how many times I clean my room it will wind up the same type of messy again.

That just about every book I have in my closet I have read at least twice.

I learned that I was never in love with you. I was in love with the idea of you.

You came into my life during a period of transitioning.

You were consistent. The only constant I could lean on.

You waltzed in saying all the right things and I believed them. I took them as fact.

I've learned that it really does bother me when people put the toilet paper roll backwards. I thought I didn't have a preference but, I apparently do.

I learned that I am literally always in the mood for Chinese food.

I learned that while I am an alto through and through, belting is so much fun and I'm not terrible at it.

I learned that I prefer Netflix over television because I need to go at my own pace.

I learned that I'm beautiful. Like actually pretty. That was a hard lesson to learn. Nowadays women are shown a very distinct sort of beauty and are scared to stray from it. It's kind of bizarre. We're told that one type of person is beautiful and that there's no room for discussion. As if the level of attractiveness that a person does or does not possess is based on fact instead of opinion. It's such a controversy.

Anyway, I learned that I do not like peanut butter. Another controversy!

I learned that I love wearing dresses but hate my legs, a conundrum if I've ever seen one.

I learned that I have a high functioning anxiety disorder. Meaning that I am in a constant state of worry and self-doubt on the inside, but am calm and cool on the outside. Good thing I've always been good at multitasking, huh?

I learned that I am by no means a morning person and that I thrive at night. Which makes sense because I'm actually writing this super late at night instead of sleeping despite the need for me to be up at 6 am.

So I guess I should finish by saying that the most important thing I learned.

I learned that every situation is different. And to listen because the complexity in every situation is a part of the beauty of life.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Dani Lopez

Christian Feminist| Writer| Singer| ENFJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.