Poets logo

What I thought I had in you

A poem

By Jazzy Published 5 months ago 1 min read
7
What I thought I had in you
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

And like a bad habit

I find you hard to break

To rip from me

And set myself free

🔥

The hurt and pain

The lust and ecstasy

Everything I thought I had in you

Was addiction and lack of control

🔥

In him, I chose everyday

What I thought I had in you

When all you were

I had convinced myself I needed

🔥

Once so out of touch

I was blind

Submerged in the lies

I thought I had in you

It turned into a shackle

🔥

You are what came before

A bitter truth

I swallow now

As I move through the eye of the storm

I am left with the aftermath

I bid farewell

To what I thought I had in you

Free Verse
7

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so poignant yet so powerful. Hindsight is 20/20. Loved your poem! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.