Poets logo

What I Know Now

If I Knew Then...

By Victoria MalcolmPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
What I Know Now
Photo by Florida-Guidebook.com on Unsplash

At my new job I'm asked to participate in an icebreaker activity

Where I pull a sentence starter from a paper bag

And then finish that sentence aloud to my group.

I reach into the paper bag in front of me,

Grab a slip of paper,

Unfold it.

It reads, "If I knew then what I know now..."

I quickly answer -

"If I knew then what I know now, I would have left home a lot sooner."

And then I wonder if I mean it.

It's been two months since that icebreaker;

Two months away from home

And I still wonder if I meant it.

I left friends and family

For themes parks and thunderstorms.

I traded stability for uncertainty,

And I'm certainly uncertain -

Have I flown too close to the Florida sun?

Did I mean it?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Malcolm

I'm a 30 year old former English teacher who just moved to Florida. My interests are YA television, vintage books, the state of education, and food!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.