Poets logo

What hurts more

Holding on or letting go?

By Andre The FirstPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

The words “I love you” rolled off my tongue so quickly

And when I said it,

I made sure to say it clearly.

Our love was strong,

But our communication wasn’t quite there.

Still, I adored the times and memories we shared.

Things weren’t perfect, but when are they ever.

I thought because you said you were sorry,

Things would get better,

But your words were only words,

So I should’ve known better.

Still, I loved when you said those three silly words.

Every time you said I love you,

I could hear white doves singing

And wedding bells ringing.

At least in my dreams

Because, in reality, our days were filled with screams

While our nights would get to the extremes.

Where did we go wrong?

I thought this was where I belonged.

You made me believe you loved me,

But now I see

That it wasn’t love,

And I could forget about the doves.

You were nothing more than a narcissist

That I could not resist.

I realized the best thing for me was to let go

And not stay in touch

Because I knew holding on,

Any longer would cost me too much.

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tenesa Davis2 years ago

    This is awesome

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.