Poets logo

What Happens

is supposed to stay there

By Brenton FPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read

i dreamt i was in vegas

with a pocket full of chips

i was with a strikingly beautiful goth girl

who had a piercing in all her lips

we took dinner and a show

then we hit the slots

and just for the briefest of moments in time

we were the biggest shots

i dreamt i was playing blackjack

every single hand i drew was twenty one

i had a thousand dollar bill in one boot

in the other a small but lethal gun

i hit every jackpot in the place

they comp'd me the penthouse suite

i did angels on a bed of chips and cash

smiling as is i drifted off to sleep

i dreamt that i dreamt that i was crucified

i was bundled from my bed in the night

bound gagged and blindfolded

and dragged off away from the light

in this dream i was tortured and abused

in ways i dare not speak of here

they took me to the edge of town

and showed me some more of my fear

so this is how my end plays out

my rise, my fall, my decline

they took me to the edge of town

and nailed me to the Welcome to Las Vegas sign

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Really, *all* her lips 😱

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Was gonna say sounds like a fun day lol then.. uh maybe not such fun after-all!! Excellent narrative style poem! Well done!

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    What a journey this was! Awesome piece, Brenton! 💫

  • Whoaaaa! Now that's sooo cool! Tragic and scary but cool! Lol!

  • Matthew Fromm7 months ago

    ooo this is trippy, great work.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    "I dreamt that I dreamt..." and down the rabbit hole we go. From elation to terror in a heartbeat!

  • Andrew C McDonald7 months ago

    Sounds about right. The Rise and Fall of the Vegas Empire. Very interesting. Nice job mate. 😎🍷🤙🏻🍷😀🍷🧐😏😔😟😣😤😳😳😭

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I enjoyed the fullness of this - there's a whole story to take away.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    This...is interesting, evocative, exciting and then terrifying...what a wonderful journey of nightmarish proportions you took us through, Brenton!

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.