Poets logo

What does Comfort really mean?

When you are not good at it

By Jeremy WhitePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
What does Comfort really mean?
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

What does comfort really mean to you?

We all have our definitions of comfort.

What my friend did before and after

My mom died was the perfect way

To comfort me.

She was just physically there.

She watched movies with me

And brought me food.

There was a little hugging

And hand holding.

That was all I needed.

I have a question for everyone.

What do you do when

You know you are not

Good at comforting other people?

You can try and fake it.

It usually comes off like

You do not care or that

You are just really uncomfortable.

That is me.

I am missing the comfort gene.

Which is funny because I went

To school for Psychology.

In that situation you can

Be trained to care.

To the people actually in

My life I cannot do it.

I try it just doesn't work.

I am not trying to be cold.

I just am missing that gene.

I can have sympathy, but comforting

Them is something different.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.