Poets logo

What do you think home should be?

Home is what makes me complete

By Annette WilsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
9
Home is where my heart is

My home is my Pad,

My Flat, My Roof..... This is my Domain!!!

You got that right!

This is my Crib!!

If you are invited here

Take your coat and shoes off at the Entrance of my door.

While the good smell of food cooking

Reaches the back of your throat

Home is where my heart lives

In this piece,.... My Place

Nothing gets past me

I hear the laughter of children playing fill the air

Food, Friends, Family and I'm talking about nothing but fun

Nope! Not one person is in their feelings

When children get put in their place

Because their not listening

Trust, when I tell you no one has truly

Seen my struggle

Of how hard I had it

When the times I had Nothing

The blood, the sweat, and the tears

That I put into this

To make this house a happy home

Respect my check list

If I invited you

This means you were selected

The fact that I made you welcome

I know darn well.... You are going to respect it

Because a clean house is a respected house

So let's not take this for granted

Please be mindful that you are my guess

So guess what?.... Don't make no mess

Then expect me to clean what you dirty

Let's be crystal clear.... I make home what it is

I refuse to deal with those who don't understand and act selfish

The fact of the matter is I wash, I cook, I clean and I pay the bills on time

So don't get it twisted because you wasn't there to see

Don't mean I didn't work hard and place my nose to the grind

If you like to welcome drama

Don't come to see me

My household will remain drama free

My dwelling is the build to my momentum

Emotionally, physically, spiritually, and mentally

When I think of home,

I think of peace and tranquility

My sanctuary where I lay my head is my serenity

If you got other plans

When you come to see me

Keep it moving to the left

Keep your bad energy right where you are at

Please stay over there

Believe me this, Is not that

If I didn't invite you don't even come my way

This is why the peace in my household will always stay

Home is not the place that I grew up in

Not my city

Nor my town

Home is where this Queen sit on her throne

snap my fingers.... Now place my Crown

slam poetry
9

About the Creator

Annette Wilson

I specialize in creative writing. Short Stories, poetry, books, music, movies, & more....Action ,thriller suspense. Rap....Hop Hip, R & B, hardcore, & gangsta lyric.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.