Poets logo

What Comforts Me..

in no particular order

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
What Comforts Me..
Photo by David Armitage on Unsplash

A hot cup of coffee, the smell of bacon on a grill,

the morning sun on my window sill.

A baby's cry, the laugh of a child,

pitter patter on my hardwood floors.

That sound my husband makes when he snores!

A favorite song on the radio,

any contact from an old friend,

a book I read again and again.

The excitement of a Ferris wheel,

flowers blooming, the rain on my roof,

all the smells of a carnival.

Pictures on my walls, of family and friends,

a good long hug,

the wag of my dogs tail,

My grandchildren's artwork on my fridge.

Walking in the rain,

waves crashing on the beach,

the feel of sand under my feet.

Visiting my old neighborhood.

The crackle of a fire in my fire place,

the warmth of that fire on my face.

A road trip with friends,

a book of old photographs,

the purr of my pet cat.

The kick start of a Harley Davidson,

the sound a slot machine makes when you've won.

All the stars in the sky,

people in the mall as they pass by.

My favorite blanket and pillow too,

the sound of the words

"I Love You".

Chocolate, pasta, garlic bread,

a bubble bath, a fluffy towel, clean sheets,

new socks, and underwear.

Make up sex.

Any holiday, birthday, anniversary,

the traditions of my family.

That feeling after a good long cry,

an impromptu rainbow across the sky.

list
Like

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kris Mabus3 months ago

    What a great way to express what makes you feel good . Very enjoyable

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.