Poets logo

What am I Doing Here?

MIchael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Rainy seasons never end

Just render me a sodden mess

Downtrodden in unrest distress

Yet sleepy and somnambulant

Have bent me to their will’s intent

To from this place I will egress

And seek to leave the rest behind

These people need me not to care

To pity, sympathize or share

The burdens bearing down upon

Their shoulders as they carry on

And wear their rags of proud despair

And there among them, take my place

Embrace a way of life without

Utopias I dreamt about

But still a form of paradise

Despite the lack of love for Christ

An alternate salvation route

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.