Poets logo

What Alone Is

I built a house too strong for the light to shine through.

By Deb MoonPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I always thought love was meant for picket fences and lawns

A place where residence is key and the key locks

But I’ve had that love, found myself lost inside of it

My mom always said, your nature is nurture

build a house and fill it

with a wife and kids

I built a house too strong for the light to shine through

Where the key rusted and fell

Cracked open the door

Let a new light in

On the night we broke up

We danced together

Not a slow dance

No, we dance partied

Not because we were happy

but because we were so filled with love

We are shapeshifters transforming to the rhythm of time

A scrabble game no one else can figure out

Mom says you will find it again

But what if that's not the love I want?

I don’t want to follow the lines everyone draws for me in their heads

I’ve spent enough time trying to balance between them

My line is more of a zig-zag

My love more like the sun

With a gravitational pull that can hold many hands

Keeping planets warm as they orbit around me

I always thought love was found and love was lost

with the slightest creak of the door

But that creek is not an exit

It is an entrance to the heart

a new relationship, none the same

Same in place

We grew up, broke up, but didn’t fall apart

I call you and tell you about a girl I’ve met

I text you to say I love you

I can spend hours talking to you about the meaning of the stars

I will hold you in the night if you need me to

I also let others in

So before you draw the lines for me, know this

Alone is not lonely

Noise is not a catalyst

I am home in my body

And this home is filled with more love than a house

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Deb Moon

www.debmoonpoetry.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.