Poets logo

What a Doll

For Poppy’s Challenge

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
What a Doll
Photo by Didssph on Unsplash

Author’s Note: The following is for Poppy’s most recent prompt/challenge. To participate, follow the link below.

A Babushka doll

Blushing cheeks, colorful clothes

Painted and pretty

*

A Babushka doll

Firm, smooth, perfectly fragile

Solidly crafted

*

A Babushka doll

Large then small and small again

More and more complex

*

A Babushka doll

The tiniest of them all

Cracked and forgotten

*

A Babushka doll

Nesting inside another

Hide from prying eyes

*

A Babushka doll

Falling out into my hand

Unloved and worn down

*

A Babushka doll

Newly cleaned and refurbished

Now revitalized

*

A Babushka doll

Tucked back in her resting place

A smile on her face

By Iza Gawrych on Unsplash

inspirational

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Test7 months ago

    This had such a rhythmic quality to it, almost like a Russian song. The repetition works brilliantly!

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    First of all, I loved the image you chose. Secondly, you use of repetition was captivating. "The tiniest of them all Cracked and forgotten" That especially pulled on my heartstrings. Great job!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I wish I were those dolls, i could tuck in and go hide. Then come out and get refurbished. I love it.

  • This has a beautiful progression... a little girl's treasured possesion; gradual loss of value as she out grows it & then full circle & valued again... love it!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I really enjoyed the hopefulness of this.

  • Oh this was absolutely wonderful! So pleasant and optimistic! I loved it!

Stephanie HoogstadWritten by Stephanie Hoogstad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.