Poets logo

Wet Stormy Monday

Just the way I like it

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Wet Stormy Monday
Photo by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

There’s a reason I refuse to work Mondays

As I wake I’m reminded of that reason,

The humid air and the darkening skies

Tells me it’s the start of the rainy season.

***

It’s no longer cold, a sultry temp of 23

We’ll see a high today of 30 degrees,

The perfect weather for a tropical storm

And I’m free to sit back and watch it be.

***

I love the rain as long as it’s not cold

And detest working in this weather,

I need to be free to enjoy the storm

As working I often miss out altogether.

***

I want the freedom to be able to choose

Should I decide to curl up with a good book,

Or watch a binge session of my TV shows

Maybe a walk in the rain or dinner to cook.

***

I’m beginning to hear the rain’s pitter patter

As I watch large rain drops begin falling,

The light is starting to grow dim and dark

And the sudden downpour is enthralling.

***

What a waste this would be if I was working

Sitting in an isolated office blocking sound,

I would have no idea it had started to rain

Except for the darkening sky in the background.

***

I would miss the sound of the rolling thunder

Nor see the lightening flash across the sky,

Ten minutes and it could be all over and gone

Or it could constantly drizzle and not pass by.

***

Ideally I would like the rain to relentlessly fall

Throughout the rest of the afternoon, I pray,

Please do not disappear and return tomorrow

As I work 10 hour days Tuesdays to Fridays.

*******************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I love a good storm too.

  • C C Farley2 years ago

    great piece.!

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.