Poets logo

Wet Paint

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
6
Wet Paint
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

My adoptive sister

fragile and valuable

is a large canvas

caked in wet paint,

pink, red, blue,

yellow, black, green,

orange, brown, white,

gray, silver, gold,

and purple.

She needs to take

her sweet, sweet time

to dry off,

slowly and untouched

on the walls.

If I touch her

while's she's wet and dirty,

she'll fall off

the bedroom walls,

and she won't be

the art piece

I want to preserve.

When I find her

dressed in drips of wet,

brightly or darkly coloured paint,

I always know

to leave her

hanging on the walls

to dry off,

at her own pace.

By Dan Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

By Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

performance poetrysurreal poetryFree Verse
6

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    I really like the idea of letting her dry at her own pace. Well done.

  • Shirley Belk19 days ago

    agree with Carol!

  • Carol Townend20 days ago

    All the colours of personality in somebody trying to find themselves. This is an excellent piece in which colour is used to describe your sister's journey. I loved it.

  • Babs Iverson20 days ago

    Wonderful performance poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 20 days ago

    This was quite clever!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.