Poets logo

Welcome, Friend!

A poem about showing an alien around Earth.

By Katie DeePublished 7 months ago 2 min read
2
Welcome, Friend!
Photo by Shona Corsten on Unsplash

Welcome, friend! I hear that you’re new

To my planet with lands of green and seas of blue.

So come with me, I’ll show you around;

There are plenty of sights that are sure to astound.

Let’s walk down the street, and along the way

We can admire the dear children sent outside to play.

Do you hear their giggles as they run around wild?

(Can you even laugh? Does your kind smile?)

We can continue on down towards our destination,

I enjoy seeing your eyes light up in fascination.

Yes, we call these things flowers, they tend to smell good,

They add a pop of color to this lively neighborhood.

Doesn’t the sun feel good as it shines down on your head?

Later tonight the moon will be out instead.

But until then, let’s appreciate the rays

And the comforting warmth on this nice summer day.

Now just ahead is where we want to go.

Oh, yes! She’s home - let’s tell Grandma “hello”!

What I want to share now is something I consider a treasure -

A hug from my Granny, is there any greater pleasure?

Don’t be shy, I can’t wait for what’s next.

Of the things in this world, this is one of the best.

As always my grandmother has certainly come through

With a plate of fresh cookies I can now share with you!

Now, my dear friend, I have to confess,

The Earth has some problems we have to address.

Some people don’t get along, and others pollute;

There’s an abundance of hatred and many a greedy pursuit.

But all that said, as I’ve shown you today

There is also positivity and love I witness each and every day.

While the Earth isn’t perfect and can sure be improved,

There is still lots of good, as I hope I have proved.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Katie Dee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Good poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.