Poets logo

Weirdo

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
25
Image - LisaJakub

It’s a challenge, this “be a better version of myself” thing, it really puts my head in a spin,

I mean I’m a weirdo, I’m definitely no hero, but I just wanna be free and express myself in poetry,

I mean yeah, it’s weird and intense, and it doesn’t always make sense,

but hello! Welcome to my brain - enjoy the show!

But didn’t you hear? That we’re all a bit weird? So own it, go for it, just show it - you’ve got one life to live, just like me,

I mean, what I would give to just be at peace - with me and my weirdness,

fuck, I’m a hypocrite, but I’m still gonna try it, don’t shy from it, just allow it and fuck the critics,

I’m a bad ass weirdo - namaste, bitches.

performance poetry
25

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Gloria Penelopeabout a month ago

    Great work, Congrats!

  • Addy Gillabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Own it!

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    A Perfect One! Loved you composition!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Arjun Sahasya2 months ago

    I had a laugh at the end, "hello! Welcome to my brain - enjoy the show!" This is so good make me want to use it 🤣🤣

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Weirdos rock unless they are creepsters. Creative weirdos are weirdly wonderful; creepy, lurking in the bushes weirdos don't deserve to be our kinda wonderful. loved this, 😂.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Chloe Gilholy2 months ago

    I love the last line.

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Congrats on your top story. I appreciate the rugged honesty and applaud you for being unapologetically yourself.

  • I am too weird for most people, be yourself , you are the best at being that

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Congrats! Weirdos we be, all together we see!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Wow!!! Fantastic performance poem!!! ❤️❤️💕 Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I love this! Own it! Congrats on the TS.

  • Jennifer David2 months ago

    Love love love!!! This speaks to my soul! <3

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Boom, bitches! Congrats on Top Story! Namaste, Jessaste!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    hahahahahahahahah Man. I love this so much, Jess! LOL...it's still making me grin and chuckle trying to type the bloody comment. I wholeheartedly agree with you and share your sentiments completely. I also love that you used one of my least favourite words and it still sounded awesome "namaste"...the addition of bitches just made it the best mic drop ever! Well bloody done. I will hunt ol' Justin from Vocal down if this is not Top Story soon! :)

  • Namaste bitches 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.