Poets logo

Weightless

A poem about human obsession to be thin.

By Madison NewtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Photo from GettyImages

I get into these cycles with my weight,

always feeling like I'm starting a diet too late.

Will I feel comfortable in a bikini by summer?

If I can't wear one, that'd be a bummer.

The vicious battle continues, it's a battle I truly hate.

fact or fictionsocial commentary
5

About the Creator

Madison Newton

I'm a recent graduate of Stony Brook University with a degree in Environmental Humanities and Filmmaking. I love writing and storytelling, and I love sharing my work so I can continue to improve my written voice.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Great use of the limerick and media pressure makes us think we are all overweight. It is good to be comfortable in your own body. If you are on Facebook please join us in the Vocal Social Society

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.