Poets logo

Weight in Gold

Not Going Back

By Deanna Repose OaksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Weight in Gold
Photo by Peter Olexa on Unsplash

Locked inside their house, lonely as can be

Looking out through a reflection of me

Silent, empty street with skies so gray

Seems no one is happy enough on this day

Silent tears start falling from my eyes

Echos of past, painful cries

At night I awake from a dream

On my breath - a sob and scream

I cry, then I sleep

And then know why I weep

Every dream is such a bitter pill

Every morning awaken to feel

Scared, angry, and altogether sad

Stay here much longer, I'll go mad

The lock is out of time

Escape this box of mine

I pass another reflection as I leave

There is nothing more for me to retrieve

All that's left of the bridge is cinder

Fear can no longer hinder

Elated as I walk the empty street

Enthusiasm as I greet

Freedom found, beyond their purview

Every day, everything new

Now I have the power to hold

Happiness worth its weight in gold

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Deanna Repose Oaks

Deanna Repose Oaks started writing poetry as a teenager and never stopped. Inspired by an Editor's Choice Award for "I Give Up" from poetry.com in 2006, she started publshing books in 2007.

Find her on facebook: @deannareposeoaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.