Poets logo

Wedding Day

A mother's lament

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Wedding Day
Photo by Tiko Giorgadze on Unsplash

Years in the making, the day is done.

Confetti thrown and you are gone.

I know it's part of life's big game

But still, I am emotionally lame.

Looking back on the joyful day,

I remember it in many ways.

White and serene, a veil in place

Subtly hiding your joyful face;

Stately entrance through arched oak door

Measured walk on decorative floor,

Gliding slowly, music playing,

Congregation gently swaying.

Heads turning for a shaky glance,

Fascinator feathers bob and dance.

These grey stone walls silently see

Another happy matrimony.

The joy is floating in the air,

Pollen joins it, hanging there,

Dream-filled haze of heartfelt feeling

Rising, lifting the vaulted ceiling.

My heart was full, my spirit high

The moisture springing to my eye;

Was it happiness I felt?

If so, why do I feel bereft?

It is not that I am without joy.

You have revealed your ideal boy;

A man to be there, day-t0-day,

Supporting you in every way,

Embracing you, exploring you

Making memories, bright and new;

Exclusive bubble, close and warm.

Devoted, intimate, newly sworn.

I am so glad you found each other;

Someone who loves you like no other.

Reflecting now, I see your dance

The perfect picture of romance.

It is this moment I can't forget;

The one that fills me with regret.

Your hand in his, you move as one

Melded together, the join is gone

That separated you as two:

Pieces no more, love as glue.

Mesmerised, I watch you move

The drink, the music gently soothe,

Until it hits me like a slap!

This is it! No turning back!

I pull my wrap around me, close

To combat, halt feeling morose:

It strikes me. I have lost my place;

You're gazing at each other's face

With such emotion unsurpassed

It takes me back into our past

When looks of love we too had shared

Affection shown and emotions bared.

I am no longer number one

For you. It seems that time is done.

It is not envy that I feel,

No malice towards you as I reel:

But the light bulb moment has me rent,

Emotionally feeling spent.

It's knowing that you're moving on

That life has grabbed and pushed you on

Towards a pairing with another

Away, in distance from your mother.

It is a small wound, I know will heal.

Balmed with love, I hope not to feel

It keenly in the days before me

And it is not difficult to see

That this union is really right;

His presence fills yours with light,

Reflected in your glowing smile

Your laughs produced without guile

So easily by him, I'd be a churl

To resent the love he gives my girl.

I simply know I'll miss you so.

The day has come when you must go.

It has been sat, horizon distant;

A threat, kept back, my mind resistant

To the realisation of the change

And how our lives will rearrange

Into something different and new

A readjustment for us two.

But I think I'll feel it more than you

Outside your bubble made for two.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.