Poets logo

Web of Lies

I never saw it coming

By Kathryn QuirkPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Web of Lies
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

I see it now, very clearly now.

The love you had has flown.

She broke the spell, in her arms you fell.

I am left alone.

I should have seen the way you spoke,

The way you hid from me.

It was for you, it was for me,

And now you’re flying free.

I wish I could say thank you , but no words appear.

How can I say thank you when you disappeared?

I wish I could commend you for shielding me.

There’s nothing to commend except the tears and lies.

I should have seen it coming.

I guess it’s time for me to say goodbye.

What a fitting way to break a heart.

I broke yours, now you broke mine,

And I never saw it coming.

How can it be , this person dear,

This friend so close to me?

He built a web, a web of great detail,

that kept me from coming near.

The door has opened, the line is breaking,

You should have been more careful.

You knew inside it was a matter of time

Before the time passed you by.

I know I should grateful for letting me down easy

But how can I be grateful as I fall to pieces?

I should be open to reason, the reason you did it for me.

But there’s no reason for lies and deceit.

I should have seen it coming.

I guess it’s time for me to say goodbye.

What a fitting way to break a heart.

I broke yours, now you broke mine,

And I never saw it coming.

My best friend trapped me in his web of lies,

And I never saw it coming.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Quirk

I am a wife, and mother of 1 daughter. Former theatre Production Manager, now a full time homemaker.

I enjoy music, theatre, board games, fishing, among other things.

I'm excited to share the musings of my brain with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.