Poets logo

Weapon of Choice

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

All weapons of

the fates you've sealed

Are no match for

this pen I wield

The power to

articulate

Ticking rhyme bombs

to detonate

The conflicts waged

gambling mankind

My perfect hand

is treaties signed

Hellbent hounds pray

like dogs, I hunt

Frontline this notebook

battlefront

With metaphors

of mindless drones

Like similes

to brainwashed clones

Whose C4 booms

and IED's

Can't build bridges

like ABC's

Or tear them down

with death regimes

By rusting through

the war machines

Flamethrowin’ my

verbal grenade

With napalm noun

scorched-earth tirade

On militant

cold-blood elite

King cobras know

I'm packing heat

Seeking missile

resolution

Winged raptor

devolution

Prehistoric

barbarism

Literacy

cataclysm

Stockpiling

extinction bones

We're cavemen carving

fallout stones

My Hiroshima

prose explodes

With nuclear

bushido codes

Released from my

katana's ward

To free my press

from shogun lord

Oppressing haiku

imagery

And samurai

epigraphy

Expressions of

my ronin soul

Omitted by

the daimyo

Satsuma is my

poetry

My final draft's

Nagasaki

Ink cartridges

strapped 'round my neck

I print no charge

or background check

And murder every

live round free

Of innocent

blood elegy

And killing sprees

of gunned-down news

Domestic violence

black and blues

A Number 2

pencil dependent

Obsolete

lead-head amendment

Open carry

shoots a blank

Empty shell case

at my think tank

So grip this peace

then cock and pull it

Suck my diction

write the bullet

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.