Poets logo

We Will Be Together Again

Dad

By Karen Eastland Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I look into the distance, and only the distance looks back

Your smile

Your laugh

Feel empty in this space.

Your touch

Your smile

Your warm and welcoming embrace.

I’ve missed you

And love you

But we cannot say these things face to face.

An ocean or two divides

An aerial view partitions

And my image of you has become displaced

Fifteen years have too long been

Years apart and barren.

My dreams have become a collage

Of what was once

And has made me lose my focus.

I take the photo you sent to me

The day you remarried.

I couldn’t be with you then

And the time since your nuptials has tarried.

My heart breaks with memories I have buried.

The important things in our lives

Have been lost across the miles

I long for the day

I’ll see you again

Your look,

Your presence,

Your smile.

And in just one moment,

The years we’ve lost,

Will blur into some haze.

And with just one look,

One warm and welcoming embrace

Our lifetimes apart will fall into place

In the time we will meet again.

One day soon

How I hope

But time is never enough.

I love you dad

With all my heart,

But the distance and years,

Have taken our lives

And choices have kept us apart.

Scratched,

Cracked,

And separate by so many miles,

Have turned our lives into a mosaic.

In this mind of mine

I reach for you,

But the lifetime we have left

We may but meet once more.

Only, once more.

In the night, I wrestle with blanket and sheet,

And in my restless sleepless sleep,

I know all it would take

Would be one look,

One touch,

And our lifetimes would rush in.

And we will know each other again.

I miss you dad

Much more than I can say

But know, deep down in my heart

We will be together again

Some day.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Karen Eastland

In addition to my creative pursuits, I'm also a dedicated advocate for education and literacy. Through my writing, I seek to inspire others to follow their passions, to make a positive impact on their world.

The #AdventuresofMillieandSandra

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.