Poets logo

We were not okay

Poem: Relationship; Breakup

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
We were not okay
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

We were not okay when we left for Texas,

But once again we put our problems aside,

out of the convenance of our relationship,

I needed a break from everything,

I think part of that meant, a break from you too,

But I kept hoping it would get better,

we would get better,

that your hometown would provide me with a piece of you,

That I didn't have before,

Instead, I felt something else in my core,

I felt an absence,

of what I wanted, what I desire,

With a hole of it not being there,

intermixed with complex differences,

I don't believe we can fix,

It gapes in a part of me you can't fill,

no matter how wonderful you are to me,

or how you have qualities I have always dreamed,

something is missing,

Something where your family ties,

strained the way I saw us,

In a way where all of our problems,

have risen to the surface,

Where our past will not be erased,

but our future isn't to be seen the same,

Where I accepted a part of me, I have been ignoring,

The past few weeks I have seen you,

Seen you put your needs aside to hold onto me tighter,

seen you wanting to give me the space I desire,

But wishing I was calling you because you make my day better,

instead, I have been withdrawing,

Calling out of obligation,

Limiting facetimes to avoid my feelings showing,

While you are adding I love you into every ending,

I question what texts are worth sending,

without leading you on,

Because a piece of my heart with us is gone,

I no longer see a future with you,

I think a part of me always knew,

this to be true,

This didn't come out of the blue,

it is something that grew overtime,

loving you was not blind,

But I don't know how to prolong being kind,

When to you, I don't see you as mine.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.