Poets logo

We've Met

A dark poem

By Ciara WholeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
We've Met
Photo by Matt Gross on Unsplash

"I've met you before." She whispers

Not so much a whisper, but a hiss

I knew I'd met her

Deep in a hidden part of me

A part that didn't want to remember such an introduction

I could feel her breath on my neck

Cold

Like wind through ice tunnels

It scraped over my skin

Sending chills down my spine

"Oh, but I know you so well."

She kept going

Her razor blade teeth slicing thin lines into her tongue with every letter

Acid blood hits my arms

Don't look

Don't look

Needle nails centimeters from my skin

Her terror was familiar to me

Her corpse-like aura

Sticky string hair that clung to her bare shoulders

I could feel her smile on me

Her razor-blade grin

They grind together

Slicing into themselves

"Go ahead and turn around, dear."

"You know you want to see."

I know her all too well

Because she is me

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Ciara Wholey

My thoughts and musings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.