Poets logo

We Stand Here Saying Goodbye

(in our uninhabitable landmark)

By Jada FergusonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

His tongue spelled goodbye on mine-

As I begged him to change that word-

-

To be satisfied-

With whatever-

It was we were standing in-

-

To be nurtured-

By the unchanging coldness-

Glazed across our-

Inner and outer-

-

I deposited the joys-

Of days his mind had forgotten-

Onto any open wounds I could find-

And he whispered memories-

Of who had inflicted those sorrows-

-

He peeled my eyes open-

Thrusting our joined flesh-

In front of a window-

That showed the progression of our disfiguration-

-

The last window-

Having wooden boxes drifting in a river-

Of our own formation-

-

You slowly pull away from me-

And I from you-

My eyes never leaving yours-

And yours never leaving mine-

Each movement forward-

Forces my body to stop weighing yours down-

And your soul to stop puncturing mine-

And I smile-

I mean I really smile-

Thankful that you let us go-

Loving you even more-

Then I had before-

Because you grew-

And allowed me to do the same

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.