Poets logo

We Stand, Free and Together

We Stand, Free and Together

By Deanna GilstrapPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I live in a land that I once thought was free. So I will never bend at the neck, or buckle at the knees. I live on a land, once decorated with bloodshed. I look deep in my conscious, looking for the words my ancestors once said. Fight for what you need and want. Anything among the horizon can be caught.

Your dreams will never dissipate, as you are the creator. Your own God. Never settle for a no, only a nod. A can-do-conscious. Those might have a mind that sits thoughtless. I stand high, with an intricate and articulate mind.

I conquer fear, the unknown. So I sit on my thrown, like everyone beside me, we are all queens and kings. Ready to stand by each other by any means.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.