Poets logo

We Love to Laugh

for World Laughter Day 07/05/23

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6
We Love to Laugh
Photo by Surface on Unsplash

Mary Poppins once said ‘We love to laugh,

Loud and long and clear’,

But I would like to talk on my own behalf,

That laughter isn’t always great to hear.

-

Mirth only works when all parties are informed,

And punchlines can pack a real punch to the gut,

So please don’t leave anyone scorned,

They don’t deserve to be the butt.

-

Make corny puns, deadpan deliveries, and juxtaposition,

On this Laughter day – loud and long and clear,

But use your intuition,

Else your companions may disappear

-

A/N: A short poem for you this laughter day! Remember to be nice, you troublemakers!

Thank you for reading! Please like, comment, and subscribe to be notified when I post. Also, you can follow me here on Twitter or Facebook!

performance poetrysocial commentarychildrens poetry
6

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Every time I pass this title on your page, the song pops in my head and I smile!!! Thank you for this! 💜

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    Yes everyone should be in on the gag.

  • Laughter can a be healing medicine or a hurtful sound that makes you shrink down. Great Poem!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    TWW, I can hear the Mary Poppins song playing in my head now! I’ll likely have to watch the movie later to get it out of my head. This was a great poem, I love it! Such a great reminder that laughter is just as important any other emotion. Although they do say that people who laugh more, live longer! 😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.