Poets logo

We Hadn't Talked

for ages...

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hadn't talked to my aunt in ages.

Not since uncle had his mishap that summer. Now the drinking had taken its toll and fucked up his kidneys and his liver. And yet, here she was on the phone talking to me. I told her I had surgery coming up and I didn't want to do it. She told me, she understood how I was feeling perfectly well back in her younger years, in fact, around the same age as me, she had gone through a similar feat and nearly died. Believe me! To be honest I don't think either of us had tears left to cry about the lives we were given. Auntie said, "you just have to come to grips with yourself and carry on despite this shit and keep on living."

©I.M ... xo

MMXX

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.