Poets logo

We Can't Tell Dad

This Hurts

By Richard BuckPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
3
We Can Be Safe Here

We can’t tell my dad

He will hurt me. He will hurt us.

He says our love is evil

So we hide our love from him

But not from us

Not from your car or your bed or your hair or your eyes

Or my hand. Or my lips.

I am with you

We play

We kiss

We feel

We love

We can do it all

But we can’t tell my dad

Love is joy. Love is you.

We can’t tell my mom

She will tell dad

He will stop me. He will stop us.

I hurt when I see him. I hurt when I see her.

I hurt when I am not with you

I make you hurt. I will make you hurt more.

He is bad, not us

Our love is pure, our love is holy.

I can run away with you. Will you run away with me?

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.