Poets logo

Watermelon is June 6th

This is summer.

By Fox MaxwellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I grab the mini-sized watermelon out of the fridge and set it down on the cutting board, pick up the over-sized knife, and chop away. This is June 6th. This is the first day of summer.

-

I opened the email from my student’s mom, read the accusations of poor leadership skills and miscommunication, and screamed out loud. That was April 25th. That was an average day as a teacher.

-

I slice the watermelon in half - quietly. I don’t want to wake up my wife or the dogs. This is my time for me. This is June 6th. This is a summer evening.

-

I ate my lunch in my car - quickly. I had a meeting with a disappointed parent. She scheduled the meeting during my only availability. That was May 9th. That was my thirty-minute lunch break.

-

I throw the cubes of watermelon in a bowl and throw the green crust in the trash. I keep some cubes in a smaller bowl and put the rest in the fridge. I cover the bowl with salt, making sure to coat each layer. I eat one piece - delicious. This is June 6th. This is my sweet, sweet summer.

-

I pulled the two bullies into the office and told the rest of the students to get ready for class. I asked the two if they knew why I was talking to them and let them squirm. I called their parents, letting each of them talk through what happened. I told them they were in huge trouble. They were crying. That was January 14th. That was a long, difficult day.

-

I take my bowl of watermelon with me upstairs and sit in the recliner. I kick my feet up, grab the TV remote, and flip on some cartoons. I smile and find comfort in my childhood heroes on screen. I eat through my bowl of watermelon, savoring bite after bite. I reminisce about simpler times. This is June 6th. This is summer.

-

I took my program with me to my seat and flipped through it to find my student’s names. I pulled out my phone, opened up the photos, and scrolled through some pictures of the graduating seniors. I smiled and thought through the growth and success my students have had over the past four years. I watched each of them walk the stage, cheering for student after student. I reminisced about the good times. That was May 23rd. That was graduation day.

-

I look at the clock. Midnight. I shrug and walk downstairs to get more watermelon. I don’t have any obligations in the morning. No parents to calm, no students to discipline, no crises to solve. I’m free to stay up as long as I’d like - eating watermelon and watching cartoons. This is June 6th, after all. This is my time for me.

-

I looked at the computer screen. Inhaled. Exhaled. I shook my head and deleted the email I had typed out to the student’s mom. She didn’t have the correct information for the after-school rehearsal. No context, no awareness of the calendar, no regard for how dedicated I am to the success of her child. I still needed to bend over backwards for her - she is the parent, after all. That was April 25th. That was what I signed up for during the school year.

-

I wake up on the couch with another episode halfway through. I turn off the TV and take my empty bowl to the kitchen sink downstairs. I rinse it out and go to bed way past my normal bedtime. This is June 6th. There is no bedtime for a teacher in the summer.

-

I cheered for my student after his incredible performance. He had entered a national competition and was named a finalist. I was so proud of him and had to make sure he knew it. That was May 21st. That was an awesome day as a teacher.

-

I pile watermelon into a bowl, cover it with salt, and head upstairs to watch cartoons. This is how I recharge in the summer. This is June 7th. The next school year will come sooner than I think.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Fox Maxwell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.