Poets logo

Wasted Youth

Time Flies

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Wasted Youth
Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

There was a time when I could not wait to grow up,

Tried so hard to waste my youth,

Thought my problems would cease as I became an adult.

Thus I never enjoyed being in my prime.

Took every day hoping the time would fly.

Time did pass as it always does,

Though I did not seize the moment,

The tranquillity of my wistful thoughts wasted,

Time which was so precious was taken from me,

Torn from my weak grasp.

Thinking on the time I could have utilized,

Trusting that by thinking hard on it that I could

Turn back the time.

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I try explaining to the young ones that they should use their time wisely, but who listens when they are young. Thinking that the world revolves around youth. One day you awaken and youth has flown away. They won't listen, youth is wasted on the young indeed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.