Poets logo

Washing Machine

Poem by S.C. Says

By S.C. SaysPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

In this poem

I am a washing machine.

*beep*

I take the things in your life that are a little messy

And hand them back to you smelling renewed.

They may be a little bit faded,

But hey,

It’s not my fault you like to buy the cheap detergent.

I came with your lease on life.

Your desire to keep things convenient.

Out of the way.

There’s a number on me,

To call if you need help with anything,

But you don’t think you’ll use it.

After all I am brand new.

Should be able to front load

Even the dirtiest task you hand me.

And do it quietly.

Cleaning all that accident.

That tarnished.

That stained.

I help people to not see all your lived in.

And you quite like it that way.

The tidiness of timing your decent.

Of keeping things in their place.

Because if there’s one thing you’ve learned

There’s just dirty and clean,

And long ago

You decided which one you’d rather be.

And in this poem

I am a washing machine.

Which means every two to three months

I’ll probably break down on you.

Be less than what you expect of me.

I will be too loud.

Even with the door closed.

Even when you’re busy living your life.

It’ll be frustratingly ordinary.

Your neighbors may ask about me.

Why I have to be so noisy.

If you could turn me down some.

Maybe not put so much dirty in my damaged.

Not use me so often.

Or,

Only do it when it’s convenient for them.

Your cleaning up.

Your weekly maintenance.

It’s just, they have lives to live.

And I’m preventing them from doing that

Without having to acknowledge that you too are here.

And could you be a little less existant?

Not so distractingly human?

We all have things to clean,

Maybe just don’t be so open about it.

And in this poem I am your mental wellbeing.

I am the thing you don’t want to have to think about.

You just need me to work.

Just work.

Just WORK.

Just do what I’m supposed to.

But in this poem

I am everything this life has thrown at you

That made you feel less than spotless.

Less than perfect working order.

I am the mess you’ve been trying to keep

Behind the locked door of your button up shirt.

Your pristinely pressed pleasantries.

Your occasionally dry cleaned calm

That came back with some stitching missing.

But battered

Was better than delicate

So you endured it.

You tossed a Tide Pod at the wound in your rumbling,

But the pain never washed away.

Didn’t come out cleanly.

Only lingered.

Only fit a little tighter.

And even the added softener

Just dulled the itch you wear like skin.

But you do wear it.

That pain.

That broken drum.

And no matter how delicately you set your

“I’m fine,” setting.

The cold water can’t wash away all that empty space.

After all I’m just a washing machine.

I can only do so much with what you present me.

And you’re not giving me anything to work with.

Just alcoholic detergent.

Just bleach that reeks of

“No really, I’m fine.

"I just…"

"I have…"

"It’s just been a long…”

And in this poem

I am me.

And every time I tried to washer machine my emotions.

Tried to put a claim on my generally electric hurt.

Every time I closed the door on the hand reaching out

Not to add in the mess

But to share in it.

The load.

The shambles.

To show that even with all my defects

I still work.

I still…work

I still…

*Beep*

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

S.C. Says

S.C. Says is an Austin based slam poet who has been performing slam poetry since 2013. He's toured and featured at venues and universities across the country, and his poetry has been viewed over 700,000 times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.