Poets logo

Was it real?

A Memory Poem

By AnniePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Was it real?
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

I awaken as if I never fell asleep.

The silence of one in the morning interrupted

By a brash man’s voice crashing through the concrete walls.

My room’s only a lawn away from him on the sidewalk.

Waking up the whole neighborhood,

He makes his way down the road,

Shouting at the unknown.

The street lights help to outline the obnoxious man,

As he wobbles off of the curb.

The daunting noise gradually fades away.

It takes many minutes to reach complete silence once again.

My eyes roll in annoyance.

The stillness returned, so I bask in the quiet.

Until troubling thoughts transpire about this individual.

Fatigue mixes with exaggerations of his character in my mind.

Questioning the event won’t fix anything.

Seconds after shuteye, imagination conquered thought.

I’m stuck in an infinite loop between reality,

And a dream.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Annie

she/her

I have a small sticker shop on Etsy called DynamiteArtStickers, so if you can, please check that out. The IG for it is @dynamiteart368.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.