Poets logo

WARMTH AND WISHES

FOR FREEDOM OF MIND BODY SOUL.

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Feiwel & mackids.com

The wind, the earth, the birds, the plants, the sun,

The moon and everything in between

Once upon a time

To the ancients spoke

Communed when the world was young

Their tune, color and harmony

Formed a bond unbroken

From season unto season

Each existing, respecting boundaries

Co-existence with nature so complete

Then came rebellion by a few

THEN CAME WAR

Then there was peace no more

Freedom was forever made corrupt

Necessitating now a wish for and

Demanding undeniable freedom

I wish for a peace that passes all understanding

I wish for a world without war

I wish for perpetual sunshine

I wish for life sustaining rain

I wish for blue skies

I wish for a clouded rain filled firmament

I wish for riches and glory

I wish for humility and kindness

I wish for happiness for me

I wish for joy and beauty for you

I wish for health and strength

Perpetually, for all

I wish for a world without war

I wish for music and laughter

I wish that all my stories

Received an A and a hat on top

If wishes were horses, then beggars would ride

I wish there were top stories

For all of your heartfelt songs

I wish that I could peek into Heaven

And tell you that it will be alright

I wish I were not sometimes lonely

I wish with all my heart

That humanity could live in freedom

And be kind one to another

I wish for a world without war

I so wish that no one went hungry

While I am fully fed

I wish I didn't feel guilty

When I am well fed

I do extend a hand

To those that I can

I still wish it could be more

Yet, if each to only one

A hand reached out to help

Still should it not count?

I wish for a world without war

I wish for perpetual freedom

I wish for everyone to be happy

If it cannot be forever, then just for a little while

I wish for a true taste of real joy for all

I wish that I knew

What else to wish for

Can we just be satisfied with

Obtaining real and true

Freedom for the sake of our hearts

With love

For us

And everyone

Everywhere

N.A.

Illustration from Book 'Wishtree' written by Katherine Applegate

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.