Poets logo

War of Love

Poetry about loving someone

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
War of Love
Photo by Carolina Heza on Unsplash

I have torn myself between you and the future

You have proven yourself to be untrusted

And you had done nothing more but hurt me

I’m such a fool for you

I always stayed by your side

Despite my heart begging me to leave you

My mind screams at me that it’s not worth it

I just can’t do it

How could I

When I still love you?

It’s the war of love

I battle against myself each day

Just to keep loving you

Even if you don’t feel the same

I will still be here

Maybe 10 or 20 years from now

I’ll be waiting for you

But you won’t

Because by then

You’d found someone

Better than me.

And I don’t want to forget you.

Even if you have forgotten me.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.