Poets logo

Walking Silhouettes

A short story about holiday observations near the beach

By simplicityPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2

I watch all the walking silhouettes on the horizon against a back drop of sky transitioning from jean blue to vibrant orange.

My mind, stealing silhouette characters to use in my own constructed fantasmagorie.

Made up stories of where my silhouette people are going, what they may be doing or celebrating, and how they came to be on the boardwalk at this very moment.

I'm in a car, a passenger shuttling from one location to the next.

A brief stop at a stop light gives me a perfect vantage point to have a panoramic view of the boardwalk.

It's the holidays so there is the added benefit of lights decorating the scene.

Everyone is cuddly snug in warm clothing, giving a bubbled or frumpy look to my silhouette characters.

Walking marshmallows.

Its a brief viewing, but enough.

Reminding me of being a small kid in a sheet fort with a flashlight making animal silhouettes on the walls.

Walking silhouettes dancing in tune with the holiday fervor.

Tis the season!





Sent from my Galaxy

Holiday
2

About the Creator

simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Awww, this was so heartwarming! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.